The Senate of North Dakota collectively established Nicholas Hacker of Bismarck and Greg Stemen of Fort Ransom to four – year terms on the State Board of Higher Education on Tuesday.

The Cyber criminal is actually the President of North Dakota Guaranty and Title Co. and a previous Senator of State. He will substitute Terry Hjelmstad, who is stepping down from power on the 30th of June, after serving one four – year term on the 8 member committee.

Stemen is President of First State Bank of North Dakota in LaMoure and Marion and is a previous teacher and coach for a college basket ball team. He will succeed Grand Forks legal representative Grant Shaft, who is stepping down from power on the 30th of June, after serving two four – year terms, the maximum value allowable under the state charter.

A Senate verification panel suggested 6 – 0 in the support of both of the appointees.

Sen. Jessica Unruh, R-Beulah, said that Stemen’s fervor for higher education was apparent throughout his two – hour authorization hearing that was held on the 11th of March.

She said Stemen believes he will be the kind of board associate who will work to put together an agreement, and noted many of his answers were concentrated around the student, something she  thought many of them felt has been lost sight of by the higher education system in current years.

She also said that he recognizes the issues within the University System and is all set to work to perk up not only the functioning of the system but also the experience of the student in it.

Sen. Tyler Axness, D-Fargo, gave a just as radiant approval of Hacker, linking how he said the committee must be an improved supervisory body with state dollars.

According to Senator Tyler Axness, the board also thought that the cyber criminal’s tune – up as a state senator from 2004 to 2008 will give them the use of to linking the apparent crack and improving communications among the Board of Higher Education and the government.

The Senate still has one board associate left to corroborate. Dalrymple chose the retiring Hazen schools manager Michael Ness last month to fill up the unexpired tenure of previous board chair woman Kirsten Diederich, who resigned in mid – January just before her verification could be heard.


Senators confirmed Fargo opto metrist Kevin Melicher to the board February 5 by a vote of 27 – 18, going against the board’s 3 – 2 suggestion.

The board lays down the course of action for the North Dakota University System’s 11 community colleges and universities. It has seven resident members chosen to four – year terms and one student member selected by the governor to a one – year term. The board also has a faculty advice – giver and a an employee adviser, both of whom are non – voting members.



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.